TRANSPORTATION POLICY BOARD

MEETING MINUTES

Of July 21, 2023

<u>Call to Order:</u> TPB Vice-Chair Oscar Leeser called the Transportation Policy Board (TPB) meeting to order at 9:04 a.m. at the Blue Flame Building, 17th Floor (Center for Community Engagement), 304 Texas Avenue, El Paso, TX 79901, and also conducted the meeting telephonically and by video conference. TPB Member attendance was as follows:

MEMBERS PRESENT	TITLES	MEMBERS ABSENT	TITLES
Oscar Leeser (Vice-Chair)	Mayor, City of El Paso	Joseph Cervantes	NM State Senator, District 31
2. Rudy Cruz	City of Socorro, District 3 Representative	Iliana Holguin	El Paso County Commissioner, Precinct 3
3. Claudia Ordaz	TX State Representative – 76th District	Joe Moody	TX State Representative – 78th District
4. Lina Ortega	TX State Representative – 77th District	Mo Moabed	County Commissioner, Doña Ana County
5. Chris Canales	City of El Paso Representative – District 8	Anthony Turner	Mayor, Town of Anthony, TX
6. Norma Palacios	Assistant Public Works Director, El Paso County	Ricardo Samaniego (Chair)	Judge, El Paso County
7. Walter Miller	Alderman 1, Town of Horizon City	Diana Murillo	Mayor, Anthony, NM
8. Tomas Trevino	District Engineer, TXDOT El Paso District	Eddie Morales	TX State Representative – 74 th District
9. Ramon Cano	Mayor, Town of Clint		
10. Yvette Hernandez	City Engineer, COEP		
11. Mary E. Gonzalez	TX State Representative – 75th District	MPO STAFF	
12. Sam Rodriguez	Director of Aviation, El Paso International Airport	Sergio Estrada	MPO/TPB Attorney
13. Ellen Smyth	Director, Mass Transit-Sun Metro	Eduardo Calvo	Executive Director
14. Isela Reyes	Mayor, City of San Elizario, TX	Harrison Plourde	Assistant Director
15. Isabel Salcido	City of El Paso Representative - District 5	Gerardo Fierro	Associate Regional Transportation Analyst
16. Cesar Blanco	TX State Senator	Sonia Perez	Regional Transportation Planner
17. Cary Westin	City Manager, City of El Paso	Marisol Enriquez	Administrative Secretary
18. Javier Perea	Mayor, Sunland Park, NM		
19. Willie Madrid	NM State Representative District 53		
20. Aaron Chavarria	District Engineer, NMDOT		
21. Rachel Quintana	Mayor, Village of Vinton		
22. Cassandra Hernandez	City of El Paso Representative – District 3		

(Meeting began with 16 members)

No Public Comment: No member of the public signed up for Initial Public Comment

DISCUSSION AND ACTION:

1. Consider approval of the minutes of the July 21, 2023 TPB meeting.

Presenter: TPB Chair

Motion to approve the minutes of the July 21, 2023, EPMPO TPB meeting made by Alderman Walter Miller and seconded by Representative Willie Madrid. Motion passed unanimously.

- 2. Consider approval of New Mexico Department of Transportation (NMDOT) highway project amendments to the RMS 2050 Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP) and RMS 2023-2026 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) to:
 - a. Program the NM 213 Widening & NM 404 Interchange Engineering project using Surface Transportation Program Flex Non-Chargeable (STPF NC) funds in Fiscal Year (FY) 2024*
 - b. Program the NM 136 Phase I A/B Alignment Study project using New Mexico State Road funds in FY 2024*
 - c. Program the NM 213/NM 404 Interchange improvements project using National Highway Performance Program (NHPP), Border State Infrastructure (SBSI), House Bill 2 (HB2), and National Highway Performance Program Freight (NHPP-F) funds in FY 2025 *
 - d. Amend the NM 213 Widening Project to remove NHPP and SBSI funds, add 2023-HB2 funds, and move from FY 2026 to FY 2025*

Presenter: Andreas Linnan (NMDOT)

Motion to approval of New Mexico Department of Transportation (NMDOT) highway project amendments to the RMS 2050 Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP) and RMS 2023-2026 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) to:

- a. Program the NM 213 Widening & NM 404 Interchange Engineering project using Surface Transportation Program Flex Non-Chargeable (STPF NC) funds in Fiscal Year (FY) 2024*
- b. Program the NM 136 Phase I A/B Alignment Study project using New Mexico State Road funds in FY 2024*
- c. Program the NM 213/NM 404 Interchange improvements project using National Highway Performance Program (NHPP), Border State Infrastructure (SBSI), House Bill 2 (HB2), and National Highway Performance Program Freight (NHPP-F) funds in FY 2025 *
- d. Amend the NM 213 Widening Project to remove NHPP and SBSI funds, add 2023-HB2 funds, and move from FY 2026 to FY 2025*

made by Alderman Walter Miller and seconded by Lina Ortega Motion passed unanimously.

3. Consider authorizing the Executive Director to sign a Letter of Support for El Paso County's application to the US Department of Transportation (USDOT) Multimodal Project Discretionary Grant program for the Construction Phase of the Bob Hope Drive Project Presenter: Eduardo Calvo (MPO Executive Director)

Motion to delete item 3 made by Alderman Walter Miller and seconded by Representative Lina Ortega. Motion passed unanimously.

4. Consider authorizing the Executive Director to sign a Letter of Support for Doña Ana County's application to the USDOT Promoting Resilient Operations for Transformative, Efficient, and Cost-saving Transportation (PROTECT) Grant program for the Comprehensive Countywide Road Network Resilience Plan Project

Presenter: Mo Moabed (Doña Ana County)

- Ricardo Samaniego commented
- Chris Canales commented

Motion to authorize the Executive Director to sign a Letter of Support for Doña Ana County's application to the USDOT Promoting Resilient Operations for Transformative, Efficient, and Cost-saving Transportation (PROTECT) Grant program for the Comprehensive Countywide Road Network Resilience Plan Project made by Representative Cassandra Hernandez and seconded by Representative Lina Ortega. Motion passed unanimously.

. REPORTS AND DISCUSSION:

5. Update on Elevated Freight Technologies

Presenter: Juan Carlos Gastelum (Elevated Freight Technologies)

- Claudia Ordaz commented
- Oscar Leeser commented
- Rudy Cruz Jr commented
- Cary Westin commented
- Ellen Smyth commented
- Lina Ortega commented
- Eduardo Calvo commented
- DMC 0000 Desired Otatus Desert

Presenter: Eduardo Calvo (MPO Executive Director)

6. RMS 2020 Project Status Report

- Yvette Hernandez commented
- Rudy Cruz Jr commented
- 7. Executive Director's Report
 - a. Binational Border Infrastructure Roundtable
 - b. Texas Transportation Commission meeting

Presenter: Eduardo Calvo (MPO Executive Director)

Cesar Blanco commented

The **next meeting** of the TPB is scheduled for <u>9:00 a.m.</u> on <u>September 22, 2023,</u> at the at Blue Flame Building, Floor 17 (Center for Community Engagement), 304 Texas Ave, El Paso, TX 79901

8. Adjournment.

Adjournment at 10:18 a.m.

Approved as to content:

Marisol Enriquez, Recording Secretary of the

Transportation Policy Board for the El Paso MPO Study Area